Garden Chronicles IIII

Wow!! What a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants month June was… Can I breath yet??

Hence, I have not shared this year’s garden’s progress for a bit.

Well hold onto your pantalones because it is growing fast and I am ready to share some loveliness!

E above, watering the Posole corn.

First and foremost, I must give credit where credit is due and if it wasn’t for a few of my beautiful friend’s my garden would not be the lively, thriving place that it is right now. Thank you to everyone, especially E, for helping me keep it watered through my absentee month and our no-rain-for-140-days summer! Where in the Sam-hell is our monsoon season anyhow??

The following photos were taken last weekend when I was home for two days and was able to get in some work in the garden as well as some harvesting. I gave away a bit of it and ate some delisciousness myself. I tell you what, there is nothing like the taste of fingerling potatoes and green onions fresh from the soil and straight from a wash into your pan. Those damn potatoes were so buttery tasting that I could have cried! I cannot wait for the next harvest for those.

I will be making a kale-beet salad tonight from my garden for my field school potluck wrap-up. That shall likely be equally divine tasting. I really cannot stress enough the richness of flavor that comes in food that you grow yourself.

Okay, I will stop my yapping and let you have a look-see…

The medium bed.

Large bed.

Flowers, tomatoes, green onions, and kale.

A yet green Roma tomato.

Row of beans sprouting well!

Giant kale loveliness!

Posole corn.

Flowers for the kitchen window view.

Flowers in the small bed.

Onions.

Drying Dill.

Box of my harvest!

Three kinds of lettuce, various greens, green onions, two kinds of basil, kale, dill, chamomile, baby beets, and fingerling potatoes.

Eat your heart out!

Whats in your front yard/back yard/windowsill garden or farm? What have you harvested lately? Whats doing well and what is not?

2 responses to “Garden Chronicles IIII

  • SEEVE

    I’m lovin your garden!!! I have a little plot in a friends backyard that has spaghetti squash, zucchini, summer squash, cucumbers, tons of tomatoes, carrots, onions, lettuce, cauliflower and peppers. The lettuce is insane and the tomatoes are going crazy as well. I can’t wait to do some harvesting soon! I think we’ll have some zucchini ready this week probably. The cauliflower isn’t doing to hot though…something seems to be eating away at it….Annnnnywhooooooo…..I’ll probably get some pics up of the garden soon!

  • AppleJuice

    Try unleashing some ladybugs in the garden and see if that helps take out whatever is eating your cauliflower. I bet the garden loves the weather there, down here it is at least 90 everyday now. Anything that requires moisture(including me) is withering away. Luckily I am only two weeks away from my NW vacay! I am hoping for terrible weather in OR 🙂

    Look forward to your garden pics!

Leave a Reply

