Impersonating Myself on Facebook

You must use your real name on your Facebook account or you will have your account deleted.  No matter what you are known by in the community or by your friends and family.  What is on your birth certificate is what you must put on your Facebook page.  Though they are gracious enough to allow, say a Robert to go by Bob or a William by Bill.

I, however, was an Apple Juice. So therefore, I was deleted for “using a fake name”. It doesn’t matter that I have been called Apple Juice by many friends for half a decade now and if you called it out in a room I would instinctively turn to answer. Yes, it may seem silly, especially considering the nickname but I really do in fact go by AJ on a daily basis and that is not allowed either. In order to have a Facebook account I must use my birth name, Amy. A name that I barely identify with and only some of my family or lifetime friends still call me by.

What does a transgender person do? This seems like a large violation of some kind…

So what is not silly is the questions this action brings up.

Who is really behind Facebook forcing users to use their birth names or be deleted? It is kinda disturbing when you really stop and think about it.  I have never misused Facebook so unless the site is there to track citizens, why force me to only put what is on my birth certificate on my account. The site is for social networking??? Isn’t that correct? How can I socially network when no one I meet knows me as Amy but Facebook declares that I can only use that name? Facebook gets to decide my identity in order for me to use it?

Most people have heard that employers will look up potential hires to see their private life on Facebook before making their hiring decisions, but that can’t be the motivation for this strict and strange rule.  So is it also used for government purposes or are there behind the scenes deals with corporations?

http://www.facebook.com/help/?page=46

Why doesn’t Facebook allow fake names? Facebook is built around real world interactions. Operating under an alias detracts from the value of the system as a whole.
If it is built around real world interactions then I would be allowed to be myself, AJ.  How real people in the real world know me.

Facebook requires users to provide their real first and last names. Your account must comply with all of the following authenticity standards:

  • Fake names are not permitted.
  • Initials cannot stand in place of your full name.
  • Nicknames can be used, but only if they are a variation on your real first or last name, such as ‘Bob’ instead of ‘Robert.'”

Oh, right, I guess going by my initials is impersonating myself and degrading the value of the site, but Bob wouldn’t be. Is that because Bob shows up on government files, credit report sites and search engines but AJ would not?

…Well, off to send yet another request to get back my account…at least long enough to recover hundreds of my photos and many writings I only have on that page. But who am I to ask to get those things of mine recovered from the site, after all I was impersonating myself.

3 responses to “Impersonating Myself on Facebook

  • Ashley S

    Wow. How effing stupid. If you get married or divorced or have a legitimate legal reason to change your name, you have to upload a picture of your government-issued id or document proving name change. Icky.
    Off to write them a nice little email.

  • Ashley S

    DearFacebook:Screw your extremely discriminatory name rules.Any transgender person who uses a name other than their legal one shall have their account deleted.Seems ridiculous that a “social networking” site feels it has the right to define a users identity based solely on a piece of paper,which is often not the name used socially.On behalf of my BFF who has now lost writings and pictures she had only on FB,you suck.

Leave a Reply

